Connect with H&H

Anybody with kids in school ever hear of this??

jetjane's picture
jetjane

My DS came home with yet another letter saying his poem was chosen to be published in a poetry book. This time the company is out of the US by the name of Creative Communication but last time his short story was chosen by a company out of BC that I can't remember the name of. The thing is, almost everyone's work has been chosen to be published in his class. I think it is a money grabbing scheme that is pissing me off since it makes the kids feel all special and forces the parents to purchase a copy of the book ( $27 plus $9 shipping PER book) . You don't have to purchase the book to be published but still, I don't like it one bit. Especially this last one where his name, school and grade would be published beside it. That gives me the creeps. They also would then have my name, home address, and phone number too to probably give to all the junk mail/spam/ telephone solicitor people of the world. Oh, did I mention the "contest" that if you agree to be published then you are entered to win some money. This whole thing just makes alarms go off in my head. Of course, I look like the bad guy for not sending in the permission slip. Am I just paranoid or what do you guys think??? :mad:

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
BJDec's picture
BJDec

I hate those things that make the kids feel special and cost the parents tons of $$$.

Why not suggest that the classes publish their own book. The kids could get a lot of learning out of a project like that.

janetc's picture
janetc

it sure does sound like a scam and what ticks me even more, is the excitement they put these kids through, only to find they are using the children to earn money...sick jerks! :mad: i feel for your DS......that is so unfair!
smiles
janetc

jetjane's picture
jetjane

Karenm...THANKYOU!! That is exactly the kind of info I need to confront the school with on Monday. I told my DS after the 1st time being chosen (different company) that it was a scam and didn't send in the permission to publish form, only to have him pissed off at me....though, it was because then he couldn't have a chance to win the $200 top prize. :rolleyes: I can't believe the teacher (it was the same one) fell for it again. I guess I'm not just paranoid after all...yay! :laugh:

karenm's picture
karenm

Here's some information: [url]http://www.winningwriters.com/contests/avoid/av_avoid.php[/url]

Creative Communication is mentioned, scroll down for their information.

karenm's picture
karenm

I saw this on an expose once, marketplace or something like that. It's totally a scam. All the kids get picked and the parents buy lots of copies of the book. It's not a proper published book in the sense that it's in bookstores. Don't fall for it, in fact, I'd be tempted to report it to marketplace or some consumer group and get it looked into.

janetc's picture
janetc

are not the bad guy....i would certainly go to the school with the concerns in regards to your families privacy....that is completely wrong! and there is way too many creeps out there these days!
smiles
janetc

jetjane's picture
jetjane

It is not the school who is publishing these books but those companies. I kinda doubt it costs the school anything to enter. It is the teachers who chose the work that is entered. The school gets one book free as far as understand. My guess, from looking at the company's website, is they do it for the chance to win grants and scholarships for the school but I am going to phone the school on Monday to find out for sure. I did check both of those companies out with the BBB but there were no complaints filed in the last 36 months. I think it is just a sneaky way to for those companies to make money.

condogirl's picture
condogirl

Your not wrong to question or to be unhappy about this. I would call the school, but I wouldnt be suprised if they are making money off this too, as kind of a fundraiser. There is no way the school would be doing this with out making money off it.

Pearl_girl's picture
Pearl_girl

Firstly who asked the kids to enter? ? who chose the items to be published? I find it hard to believe every child's work was chosen.
Is this a fund raising for the school ? Are all the schools in the Board participating? I would go straight to the top, the Director General of the school board. I would not send anything back until you have answers.

The local school did a similar thing but the costs were low (under $10) as the booklet was done on a computer and parent commitee compiled the entries and made the booklet themselves. $5 of the $10 was fund raising for the school. There is no need to have such a book published in the US and the price is outrageous. Is there a school committee meeting soon where you can also voice your concerns amongst I am sure other parents with concerns. Not all families have that kind of $ for that type of booklet either.
Good luck.
Here's their link. Looks like anyone can enter...don;t like the sound of it. it prays on kids and parents to buy..buy.

[url]http://www.poeticpower.com/[/url]

jenjen's picture
jenjen

don't think you look like the bad guy for questioning it JJ...you're doing the right thing...i think you should call the principal...then find out if there is away you can contact the publishing company themselves...you have every right to question the legitimacy of this...

Jeep's picture
Jeep

I would bring up your concerns with the school. I don't like those type of things it is a money grab that the school has bought into. I think also it is worth a call to the Board office and complain maybe if enough will they will be more careful about who they let into the school with these schemes.

Comment Guidelines

We welcome your feedback on Houseandhome.com. H&H reserves the right to remove any unsuitable personal remarks made about the bloggers, hosts, homeowners and/or guests we feature. Please keep your comments focused on decorating, design, cooking and other lifestyle topics. Adopt a tone you would be willing to use in person and do not make slanderous remarks or use denigrating language. If you see a comment that you believe violates any of the guidelines outlined above, please click “Alert a Moderator.” Thank you.

OK