Now Playing » Contemporary Exotic House » as seen in episode 104 » Contemporary Exotic House
skip ad


MORE FROM H&H ONLINE TV: SEGMENTS BY EPISODE

Play next
Small & Sophisticated Apartment
How do you make a tiny apartment seem spacious and glamorous? Arminé Tatosian divulges her secrets as she tours her space. (As co-owner of AT...
Play next
Lynda Reeves' Top Gift Ideas
Lynda Reeves shares her ten favourite gift ideas for the holidays. See why she's loving hand-quilted cotton throws, lavender sachets, leather-bound notebooks...
Play next
Artfully Curated Condo
Tour Alan de la Vigne's 1,200-square-foot Yorkville condo. After spending years in a 3,500-square-foot home in Port Hope, Alan decided he missed the city enough...
Do not autoplay

Having trouble?

  • Reload this page: click here
  • Test out the low res version
  • Clear your browser cache (to see how, click here)
  • Upgrade your browser to the latest version
  • Ensure you have a good internet connection and that houseandhome.com is not being hindered by firewalls or ad blocking software, etc.
If you are still having trouble, please contact us

In This Episode

Bold graphic patterns, warm brass accents, grey kitchens and unique wall treatments are just a few of today's hottest design looks. In this episode, popular designer and HGTV co-host Tommy Smythe explains how he revived a historic family kitchen and attached lounge with daring tile, strong colours and traditional references. Lynda Reeves reveals on-trend paint colour picks and a few of her personal favourites. Plus, see how coffered ceilings, Egyptian lanterns and modern furniture coexist beautifully in Betsy Aziz's house, thanks to designer Connie Braemer.

See sources

Interior design, Connie Braemer Design, visit conniebdesign.com; architecture, Richard Wengle Architect, Toronto (416) 787-7575; construction, G.E.S. Construction, Toronto (416) 366-8208.

Living room: Sofa, chairs, Inform Interiors, Vancouver (604) 682-3868 or visit informinteriors. com; rug, Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com; drape fabric, Primavera Interior Furnishings (to the trade), Toronto (416) 921-3334 or visit primavera.ca for showrooms across Canada; sewing, Your Sweet Home, Toronto (416) 489-2301; wall paneling, Icon Kitchens, Mississauga, Ont. (905) 607-3600 or visit iconkitchens.ca.

Kitchen dining table: Windmill, The Door Store, Toronto (416) 863-1590 or visit thedoorstore.ca; table, Stylegarage, Toronto (416) 534-4343, 1-866-534-4343 or visit stylegarage.com; chairs, Design Within Reach, Toronto (416) 977-4003 or visit dwr.com for ordering information; light fixture (over table) Eurolite, Toronto (416) 203-1501 or visit eurolite.com for information; window colour, Iron Mountain (2134-50) from the Colour Preview collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800-361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca.

Kitchen: Light fixtures (over island), Hardware Interiors, visit hardwareinteriors.com; limestone floor, Saltillo Imports, Toronto (416) 441-2224 or visit saltillo-tiles.com; cabinets, Cando Woodworking, Schomberg, Ont. (905) 939-8415 or visit candowoodworking.ca; Wolf stove, Tasco Distributors, visit tasco.net; sink, faucets, Ginger’s, Toronto (416) 787-1787, 1-888-444-3292 or visit gingersbath.com.

Dining room: Julian Chichester table, South Hill Home, Toronto (416) 924-7224 or visit southhillhome.com; chair fabrication, Louis Interiors, Toronto (416) 785-9909 or visit louisinteriors.com; chair fabric, Sahco Devon (2271-05), Télio (to the trade), call 1-800-361-0375 or visit telio.com; USM buffet, Avenue Road, Toronto (416) 548-7788 or visit avenue-road.com; lighting, Zenza Home Accessories, visit zenza.nl; lamp wiring, Lamp Cage, visit lampcage.com; Moroccan kettles, Palmyra Design, visit palmyradesign.com.

Family room: Mooi Random pendant, Noguchi walnut glass coffee table, Klaus by Nienkämper, Toronto (416) 362-3434 or visit klausn.com; sofa fabrication, Louis Interiors, Toronto (416) 785-9909 or visit louisinteriors.com; walnut glass coffee table, Noguchi, visit noguchi.org; Moana II swivel chair, Artefacto, visit artefacto.com; fireplace tile, Rhone Rullato, Stone Tile International, call 1-866-669-1103 or visit stone-tile.com for showrooms across Canada; french door colour, Iron Mountain (2134-50) from the Colour Preview collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800-361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca.

Principal bedroom: Wallcolour, Pralines and Cream (5238-24), Para Paints, call 1-800-461-7272 or visit para.com for retailers across Canada; bed fabrication, Catfish Design Build, Toronto (416) 537-5863; coverlet, West Elm, Toronto (416) 537-0110 or visit westelm.com; sheets, Sferra Celeste (3990), ABC Home, visit abchome.com; sofa upholstery, Louis Interiors, Toronto (416) 785-9909 or visit louisinteriors.com; side tables, decorative pillow, Constantine, Toronto (416) 929-1177, 1-866-929-1177 or visit constantineliving.com; drapery fabric, Dominique Kieffer Toile Peinte in Mauve (17063), Télio (to the trade), call 1-800-361-0375 or visit telio.com; sewing, Your Sweet Home, Toronto (416) 489-2301.

Dressing room: Drape fabric, Osborne & Little Amelienborg Rocaille (F1428-02), Primavera Interior Furnishings (to the trade), Toronto (416) 921-3334 or visit primavera.ca for showrooms across Canada; sewing, Your Sweet Home, Toronto (416) 489-2301; millwork, Cando Woodworking, Schomberg, Ont. (905) 939-8415 or visit candowoodworking.ca; rug, Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com; star pendant, Constantine, Toronto (416) 929-1177, 1-866-929-1177 or visit constantineliving.com.

Credits

EXECUTIVE PRODUCER

Lynda Reeves

DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO

Sheri Graham Delagran

DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY

Jason Stickley

SEGMENT PRODUCER

Ryan Louis

EDITORS

Patrick Malone
Erin Gulas

DIGITAL DIRECTOR

Michael Zimmermann

ONLINE DESIGNER

Julie Aubie

Runtime: 6:08
Released: December 05, 2011
Featuring: Betsy Aziz
Channel: Home Tour