Blue & White Family Home

skip ad
Loading...
Runtime: 6:36
Release Date: June 30, 2014
Featuring: Robyn Young
Channel: Home Tour

Designer Robyn Young shows how the classic and the cutting-edge happily mingle in a bright Toronto new-build.

Keeping family friendliness in mind when designing this home, Robyn sticks to a blue and white palette throughout the house. The neutral-toned principal pieces in each room are balanced by quirky and bold designs in the fabrics and in the artwork. Older pieces, like the wooden chairs in the dining room, give character to the space and give a personal connection between the homeowners and their new house. 

  • Sources

    Design, Robyn Young, Robyn Madeline Interiors, robynmadeline.com; contracting, Classic Homestyles, (905) 477-0441 or classichomestyles. ca. Page 52: Dining area: Buffet, Shelter Furniture, (416) 783-3333 or shelterfurniture.ca; chandelier, Decorum Decorative Finds, (416) 966-6829; rocking chair, Studio b, (416) 363-2996 or or studiobhome.com; flooring, Argyle Flooring, (905) 415-5111 or argyleflooring.com; artwork by Kelly O'Neil, Artifacts, (416) 961-1058 or artifactslifestyle.com; vase (on sideboard), Crate & Barrel, 1-888-657-4108 or crateandbarrel.ca; most bowls (on table) by Middle Kingdom, Gardiner Museum Shop, gardinermuseum.on.ca; grey bowl, Indigo, chapters.indigo.ca. Page 53: Living room: Sofa, Montauk, montauksofa.com; sofa upholstery, Primavera (to the trade), (416) 921-3334 or primavera.com; rug, patterned pillows, chair upholstery, Y&Co, (416) 968-7700 or ycocarpet. com; coffee table, Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com; white lamp, Boo Boo & Lefty, (416) 929-2223 or boobooandlefty.com; drapes, Your Sweet Home, (416) 489-2301 or yoursweethometoronto.com; blue pillows, Lee Jofa (to the trade), 1-800-535-3258 or leejofa.com; white pillow, Absolutely Inc.,
    (416) 324-8351 or absolutelyinc.com; side table, L'Atelier, (416) 966-0200; glass vase, Crate & Barrel, 1-888-657-4108 or crateandbarrel.ca; all windows, Statements Windows & Doors, (905) 845-4195, 1-888-444-5606 or statementsdefine.com.
    Page 54: Kitchen: Cabinets, Tamer Millwork, (416) 930-5704; countertops, backsplash, Stoneworx, (905) 857-6098, 1-800-268 -2190 or stoneworx. com; pendants, stools, Design Within Reach, dwr. com; windows, Statements Windows & Doors, (905) 845-4195, 1-888-444-5606 or statementsdefine. com; drapery, Threadcount, (416) 916-9012 or threadcountinc.com; plates, Indigo, chapters. indigo.ca; wood butter bowl, Found, foundstyle.net; pot, Le Creuset, 1-866-666-6162 or lecreuset.ca; bowls (near plants), Indigo, chapters.indigo.ca. Sideboard: Eames chair, Studio b, (416) 363-2996 or studiobhome.com; flooring, Argyle Flooring, (905) 415-5111 or argyleflooring.com; artwork by
    Viviane Case-Fox; canvas bin, G.H. Johnson's Trading Company, 1-877-532-9600 or ghjohnsontrading.com. Page 55: Bar: Bar, mirror, Queen West Antique Centre, (416) 588-2212 or qwac.ca; sconces, Pimlico Design Gallery, (416) 538-0909 or pimlicogallery.com. Kitchen: Sconces, Design Within Reach, dwr.com; cabinet hardware, Antique Door and Hardware, (416) 785-8393;
metal basket, Crate & Barrel, 1-888-657-4108 or crateandbarrel.ca; cutting boards, Indigo, chapters. indigo.ca; napkins, table runner (in basket), grey pitcher, Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com. Pages 56 and 57: Family room: Mantel, Natural Gas Home Comfort, (416) 493-4977; rug, patterned pillows, Y&Co, (416) 968-7700, (514) 287-8998 or ycocarpet. com; sectional, RH Restoration Hardware, rh.com; ottoman, Robert Custom Upholstery, (416) 755-3121; blue pillows, Kravet Canada (to the trade), 1-800-535-3258 or kravetcanada.com; wicker stools, Artifacts, (416) 961-1058 or artifactslifestyle. com; wood bowl (on pouf), Crate & Barrel, 1-888-657-4108 or crateandbarrel.ca; lamp, Jielde, jielde.com. Page 58: Principal bedroom: Rug, Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com; bed, pillows, chair fabric, Y&Co, (416) 968-7700, (514) 287-8998 or ycocarpet.com; bench, lamps, Decorum Decorative Finds, (416) 966-6829; mirror, Boo Boo & Lefty, (416) 929-2223 or boobooandlefty.com; table, West Elm, westelm.com; chandelier, Universal Lighting, greatlighting.com; chair pillow, Artifacts, (416) 961- 1058 or artifactslifestyle.com; baskets, HomeSense, homesense.ca; windows, Statements Windows & Doors, (905) 845-4195, 1-888-444-5606 or statementsdefine.com. Page 59: Principal bathroom: Towels, Ginger's, (416) 787-1787 or gingersbath.com; vanity, Tamer Millwork, (416) 930-5704; tub, Atlantis Bath Centre, (416) 265-4558 or atlantisbathcentre.ca; drapes, Y&Co, (416) 968-7700, (514) 287-8998 or ycocarpet.com; light fixture, Universal Lighting, greatlighting.com; table, Artifacts, (416) 961-1058 or artifactslifestyle.com; Statuarietto marble flooring, Saltillo Imports, (416) 441-2224 or saltillo-imports.com. Powder room: Towels, soap dish, Ginger's, (416) 787-1787 or gingersbath.com; light, art, Absolutely Inc., (416) 324-8351 or absolutelyinc.com; wallpaper, Télio
    (to the trade), 1-888-855-6977 or telio.com; roman blind, Y&Co, (416) 968-7700, (514) 287-8998 or ycocarpet.com; vanity, Duravit, 1-888-387-2848 or duravit.us; basket, Pimlico Design Gallery,
    (416) 538-0909 or pimlicogallery.com; wall colour, Van Dusen Blue (HC-156), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca; vase, Crate & Barrel, 1-888-657-4108 or crateandbarrel.ca. Nursery: Carpet, Oliver Yaphe rug, Y&Co,
    (416) 968-7700, (514) 287-8998 or ycocarpet.com; crib, chair, DwellStudio, dwellstudio.com;
bedding by Little Auggie, elephant pillow, Ella+elliot, ellaandelliot.com; letters, Absolutely Inc., (416) 324-8351 or absolutelyinc.com; pompom trim, Primavera Interior Furnishings
    (to the trade), (416) 921-3334 or primavera.ca; basket, Pimlico Design Gallery, (416) 538-0909 or pimlicogallery.com.

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB ADMINISTRATOR
    Scott Polley

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.