Colourful Family Home

  • Having Trouble?
    1) Try reloading the page in your browser
    2) Clear your browser cache (to see how, click here)
    3) Upgrade your browser to the latest version
    4) Ensure you have a good internet connection and that houseandhome.com is not being hindered by firewalls or ad blocking software, etc.
    5) Test using another browser. For example if you are using Internet Explorer, try Chrome or Safari

    If you are still having trouble, please contact us
Runtime: 3:34
Release Date: February 6, 2012
Featuring: Alexandra Bennett

Jazz up a dark Victorian home by painting rooms in fun, bold colours. Artist, writer and energetic entrepreneur Alexandra Bennett did just that with the Toronto home she shares with her husband and three children. She embraced the small, divided rooms by painting them in different shades — tour the fuchsia dining room, lilac kitchen nook, deep purple living room, and principal bedroom with soft and subtle pattern.

See more of this home in our March 2012 issue.

  • Sources

    Dining room: Wallpaper, Primetime Paint & Paper, visit primetimepaint. ca; chairs, Inform Interiors, visit informinteriors.com; shag rug, Dosa, visit dosainc.
    com; artwork, The Cross Decor & Design, visit thecrossdesign.com. Page 77: Living room: Throw pillow fabric, AnneStarr, Vancouver, visit annestarr.ca; rug, Dosa, as above; marble slab (coffee table top), Martha Sturdy, visit marthasturdy. com; shelving, Inform Interiors, as above. Page 78: Family portrait: Poufs, Dosa, as above; door colour, Ol' Blue Eyes (2064-30) from the Colour Preview collection, Benjamin Moore, visit benjaminmoore.ca; artwork, Bobbie Burgers, visit bobbieburgers.com/images.html; prints, The Cross, as above. Page 80: Office: Chairs, Design Within Reach, visit dwr.com; artwork (over fireplace), Jeremy Down, visit jeremydown.com. Bold & Bright: Paints, Benjamin Moore, visit benjaminmoore.ca, and Farrow & Ball, visit farrow-ball.com; wallpapers, Crown Wallpaper + Fabrics, visit crownwallpaper.com, and Primetime Paint & Paper, visit primetimepaint.ca; fabrics, Designer Fabrics, visit designerfabrics.ca; artwork, Bobbie Burgers, as above. Page 81: Olivia's bed: Kreme California collection Giraffe Stripes wallpaper, Y&Co, visit ycocarpet.com. Stool: Designers Guild Darlee (P521/05) wallpaper, Primetime Paint & Paper, as above; mirror, L'Atelier, Toronto (416) 966-0200. Olivia's bedroom: Madeline Weinrib
    window seat fabric, Y&Co, as above; bedding fabric, Designers Guild, visit designersguild.com; toy bin, Lovell Designs, visit lovelldesigns.ca. Kai Max on chaise: Wallpaper, Designers Guild, as above; chaise, Ikea, visit ikea.ca; quilt, Auggie, visit littleauggie.com. 

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB DEVELOPER
    Michael Kadis

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.