H&H Editors’ Apartments

skip ad
Loading...
Runtime: 7:35
Release Date: February 14, 2011
Featuring: Mark Challen
Channel: Design Lab

Mark Challen talks with H&H executive editor Beth Hitchcock and style editor Michael Penney at the 2011 Interior Design Show about their personal style. Learn about Beth’s sleek and modern condo rental, which she accessorized for a warm, California-style feel. Michael, meanwhile, infused his eclectic style into a 1930s apartment with vintage accessories, wallpaper and bright paint. Get their tips for personalizing a rental by changing up light fixtures, combining mix-and-match furniture and layering patterns — all within a set budget.

  • Sources

    Beth Hitchcock's condo from House & Home Condos 2010 special issue:

    Michael Penney's apartment from House & Home June 2009 issue: Living room: Chairs, MoveLine Liquidations, Oakville, Ont. (905) 815-1333

    or visit movelineliquidations.com; linen curtain panels, Ikea, call 1-866-866-IKEA or visit ikea.ca for locations across Canada; chair fabric, Robert Allen (to the trade), Vancouver (604) 255-0010, Toronto (416) 934-1330, Montreal (514) 938-2677, 1-800-333-3777 or visit robertallendesign.com

    for showrooms across Canada; upholstery, Soft Options Upholstery, Toronto (416) 465-9131; candlesticks, Arcadia Antiques, Toronto (416) 534-0348 or visit arcadiaantiques.ca;

    velvet cushion, Angus & Company, Toronto (416) 537-4104; brass occasional table, Elte, Toronto (416) 785-7885, 1-888-276-3583 or visit elte.com. Page 109: Living room: Coffee table, Arcadia Antiques, Toronto (416) 534-0348 or visit arcadiaantiques.ca; side table, lamp, Decorum Decorative Finds, Toronto (416) 966-6829; vase, West Elm, Toronto (416) 537-0110 or visit westelm.com; carpet, Ikea, as above; cushion fabric, David Hicks by Ashley Hicks, Kravet Canada (to the trade), call 1-800-535-3258 or visit kravetcanada.com for showrooms across Canada; vintage chair (foreground), Thrift Town, Toronto (416) 537-9673. Page 110: Kitchen: Pegboard, hooks, The Home Depot, call 1-800-628-0525

    or visit homedepot.ca for locations across Canada; African basket, Absolutely North, Toronto (416) 922-6784. Shelving: Green jug, blue goblets, Arcadia Antiques, as above; woven cutlery containers, Angus & Company, Toronto (416) 537-4104; ceramic birds, Value Village, visit valuevillage.com; paint colour (back of shelves), Bittersweet Chocolate (2114-10) from the Designer Classics collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800-361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca. Page 111: Kitchen: Light fixture, Arcadia Antiques, as above; boxwoods, Sheridan Nurseries, visit sheridannurseries.com for locations across Canada; baskets, Tap Phong Trading Company, Toronto (416) 977-6364; kettle, Walmart, call 1-800-328-0402 or visit walmart.ca for locations across Canada; painting, Value Village, as above; wallpaper, Thibaut, through Crown Wallpaper + Fabric, call 1-800-268-1300 or visit thibautdesign.com.

    Page 112: Sunroom: Lamp, Value Village, as above; carpet, Ikea, as above; House & Home yellow drum, Home Outfitters, visit hbc.com

    for locations across Canada; red cushion, Lucca, Toronto (416) 485-4999; geometric cushion

    fabric, Celerie Kemble, Bilbrough & Co. (to the trade), Toronto (416) 960-1611, 1-800-563-5716

    or visit bilbroughs.com for showrooms across Canada; painting, box, Absolutely North, as

    above; vintage chaise, Thrift Town, Toronto

    (416) 537-9673. Bedroom window: portrait, Absolutely North, Toronto (416) 922-6784; curtain fabric, Designer Fabrics, Toronto (416) 531-2810 or visit designerfabrics.ca. Bathroom: Shelf, Arcadia Antiques, as above; canisters, West Elm, as above; shower curtain, Pottery Barn, visit potterybarn.ca. Page 113: Bedroom: Wallpaper, Blue Mountain Wallcoverings, through The Home Depot,

    as above; bedding, Lucca, as above; vintage clock radio, Arcadia Antiques, as above; bedside table, Funk & Gruven A-Z, Belleville, Ont. (613) 968-5612; bedside table hardware, eBay,

    visit ebay.ca; black printed cushion, Constantine, Toronto (416) 929-1177 or

    visit constantineinteriors.com.

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB ADMINISTRATOR
    Scott Polley

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.