H&H Editors’ Renos

skip ad
  • Having Trouble?
    1) Try reloading the page in your browser
    2) Clear your browser cache (to see how, click here)
    3) Upgrade your browser to the latest version
    4) Ensure you have a good internet connection and that houseandhome.com is not being hindered by firewalls or ad blocking software, etc.
    5) Test using another browser. For example if you are using Internet Explorer, try Chrome or Safari

    If you are still having trouble, please contact us
Runtime: 5:45
Release Date: April 4, 2011
Featuring: Mark Challen
Channel: Design Lab

Mark Challen sits down with editors Meg Crossley and Cameron MacNeil at the 2011 Interior Design Show to chat about their own home renovations. See how Meg transformed an unfinished basement into a bright, livable space for cool summer lounging, and how Cameron made over the main floor and second floor of his narrow Toronto rowhouse. Learn where to cut corners, what to splurge on, how colour can define a space, and where it’s safe to experiment with pattern.

For more of their reno tips, take virtual tours through Meg’s basement, and Cameron’s main floor and second floor.

  • Sources

    Meg Crossley's Basement

    Contractors, Artwall Contracting, toronto (416) 534-0944; laminate flooring, Pergo Presto in Elite Soothing 

    Walnut laminate, The Home Depot, call 1-800-628-0525 or visit homedepot. ca for locations across Canada; faux brick on fireplace, Manchester interior decorative brick wall covering, Century Architexture, toronto (416) 503-3889, 1-886-347-2030 or visit centuryarchitexture.com; all nickel hardware, lee Valley tools, call 1-800-267-8767 or visit leevalley.com for locations across Canada; yukon White gloss hexagonal floor tiles (in bathroom), Olympia tile & Stone, toronto (416) 785-6666, 1-800-268- 1613 or visit olympiatile.com; Pragel

    in Walnut counter (laundry room), Domsjo sink, Granemo bookcase, cowhide rug, ikea, call 1-866-866- iKEA or visit ikea.ca; washroom panelling, laundry room cabinet and stair tread colour, Sico Blue Ash (4176- 21), wall and trim colour throughout, Sico light Sugar (4150-11), through Paint Depot, toronto (416) 469-5633; white cotton duck (for slipcovers), blue modern crewel fabric (on pillows), Designer Fabrics, toronto (416) 531-2810 or visit designerfabrics.

    ca; slipcover sewing, Pat Walker (by appointment), toronto (416) 766-6272.

    Cameron MacNeil's Home

    Counter and sink: Custom cabinets, Deir Design, (905) 717- 8596; upper cabinets, ikea, call 1-866- 866-iKEA or visit ikea.ca for locations across Canada; countertop, Perfect Stainless, toronto (416) 533-5653 or visit perfectstainless.com. Page 74: Living room: Art by Shane Norrie, 

    ngersoll, Ont. (519) 485-7217 or visit shanenorrie.com; sofa fabric, drapery fabric, Joanne Fabrics (to the trade), call (905) 829-5500 or visit joannefabrics. com; drapery sewing, Blinds, Drapes

    & Bedding, toronto (416) 604-1412; lamp, Kiosk, toronto (416) 539-9665, (416) 601-1661 or visit kioskdesign.ca; wallpaper, Blue Mountain Wallcoverings, through The Home Depot, call 1-800- 628-0525 or visit homedepot.ca

    for locations across Canada; sofa upholstery, Mieda Design, toronto (416) 360-8321 or visit miedadesign. com. Page 75: Dining room: Wallpaper, Jocelyn Warner, visit jocelynwarner. com for information; bowls, Shane Norrie, ingersoll, Ont. (519) 485-7217 or visit shanenorrie.com. Page 76: Upper hallway: Glass, CGA Glass & Mirror, toronto (416) 534-5835; stainless steel handrail, Perfect Stainless, toronto (416) 533-5653 or visit perfectstainless. 

    com; photographs by Rita Godlevskis, visit ritagodlevskis.com; art by todd Munro, visit toddmunro.com. Page 77: Front bedroom: Hide rug, Elte, toronto (416) 785-7885, 1-888-276-3583

    or visit elte.com; daybed, CB2, visit cb2.com for ordering information. Page 78: Bedroom: Headboard, Mieda Design, toronto (416) 360-8321 or visit miedadesign.com; table, lamp, Ministry of the interior, toronto (416) 533-6684 or visit ministryoftheinterior.net. Bathroom: Mirror, ideal ideas, toronto (416) 830-1799; marble, Designers Choice Marble & Granite, toronto (416) 787-5600. Page 79: Bedroom console: Rug, Bev Hisey, visit bevhisey.com for information; wall colour, Smoky Green (CC-700) from the Designer Classics collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800- 361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca for retailers across Canada.

  • Credits

    Lynda Reeves

    Sheri Graham Delagran

    Jason Stickley

    Ryan Louis

    Reiko Caron

    Andrew Noddin

    Scott Polley

    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.