Jeffrey Douglas’s Custom-Tailored Home

skip ad
Loading...
Runtime: 6:30
Release Date: December 3, 2012
Featuring: Jeffrey Douglas
Channel: Home Tour

See how Toronto designer Jeffrey Douglas transformed a dated Cabbagetown rowhouse into a custom home for two. Tour the living room with limestone fireplace and mid-century modern furnishings, small powder room, dark and dramatic kitchen, principal bedroom with a vaulted ceiling and cleverly hidden storage, and customized loft space for guests. Learn Douglas’s tricks for mixing new trends with classic pieces.

See more of this home in our January 2013 issue.

  • Sources

    Design, Jeffrey Douglas, Douglas Design Studio,
    (416) 538-4692 or douglasdesignstudio.com.
    Page 76: Portrait in vestibule: Patricia Urquiola

    tiles, Stone Tile International, 1-866-669-1103 or stone-tile.com; millwork colour, Winds Breath (OC-24), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca. Page 77: Living room: Striped throw (on chair), wooden vessels (on coffee table), Kantelberg & Co., (416) 964-0192 or kantelbergco. com; vase (on coffee table), Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com; photography by Laurent Guérin (above fireplace), Lacerte art contemporain, (418) 692-1566, (514) 274-4299 or galerielacerte.com; sofa design, Douglas Design Studio, (416) 538-4692 or douglasdesignstudio.com; sofa manufacturing, CCI Custom Furnishings, (905) 669-3963; All Grain leather (on sofa), Edelman Leather, (860) 350-9600 or edelmanleather.com; Pollack Vilano wool (sofa cushions), Scalamandré Audrey throw pillow fabric (on sofa), Primavera Interior Furnishings (to the trade), (416) 921-3334 or primavera.ca; ceiling and trim colour, Winds Breath (OC-24), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca. Page 78: Dining room: Vase, Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com; table base, BlankBlank, blankblank. net; bronze-smoked glass tabletop, Ely's Glass, 1-866-925-3547 or elysglass.com; chandelier, Jeff Goodman Studio, (416) 532-8073 or jeffgoodmanstudio.com; chandelier base plate, Ridgely Studio Works, (416) 294-4690 or ridgelystudioworks.com; trio of framed artworks, Veronica Bailey, veronicabailey.co.uk; trim colour, Winds Breath (OC-24), Benjamin Moore, 1-800- 361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca. Living room window: De La Espada lounge chair, Hollace Cluny, (416) 968-7894 or hollacecluny.ca; armchair, Douglas Design Studio, (416) 538-4692 or douglasdesignstudio.com; Como linen (on
    armchair), Kobe Interior Products (to the

    trade), (905) 639-2730; ceiling and trim colour, Winds Breath (OC-24), Benjamin Moore, 1-800- 361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca. Page 79: Butler's pantry: Silverwave marble (on countertop and backsplash), Ciot, ciot.com; hardware by Jeff Goodman Studio for DuVerre, Summerhill Decorative Hardware, (416) 785-1225. Exterior: Landscaping, Heinz Prachter Designers & Contractors, (416) 728-1799; exterior trim colour, Iron Mountain (2134-30), front door colour, Bryant Gold (HC-7), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898
    or benjaminmoore.ca. Kitchen: Tray (on island), vase (on table), Kantelberg & Co., (416) 964-0192 or kantelbergco.com; wooden butter bowls (on left counter), Found, foundstyle.net; island design, Douglas Design Studio, (416) 538-4692 or douglasdesignstudio.com; island fabrication, Emanuele Furniture Design, (905) 669-6268; Silverwave marble countertops, Ciot, ciot.com; hardware by Jeff Goodman Studio for DuVerre, Summerhill Decorative Hardware, (416) 785-1225; chandelier, Ridgely Studio Works, (416) 294-4690 or ridgelystudioworks.com; wall colour, Winds Breath (OC-24), trim colour, Iron Mountain
    (2134- 30), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca; appliances, Total Appliance Centre, (905) 848-9903 or totalappliance.ca. Powder room: Mosaic tiles, Nancy Zboch, (416) 604-9592 or nancyzboch.com; David Weeks Studio sconce, Avenue Road, (416) 548-7788 or avenue-road.com, and Avant-Scene, (514) 281-6782 or avant-scene.com; wall colour, Winds Breath (OC-24), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca. Page 80: Principal bathroom vanity: Product, tray, box, towels, Ginger's (416) 787-1787 or gingersbath.com; vanity design, Douglas Design Studio, (416) 538-4692 or

    douglasdesignstudio.com; vanity fabrication, Emanuele Furniture Design, (905) 669-6268; sconces, Sterling Lights, sterlinglights.com; wall colour, Winds Breath (OC-24), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca; fixtures, Taps Bath Centre, 1-800-263-2976 or tapsbath. com. Office area: Stair-system, storage wall and railing design, Douglas Design Studio, (416) 538-4692 or douglasdesignstudio.com; stair- system and storage wall fabrication, Emanuele Furniture Design, (905) 669-6268; railing fabrication, Classic Crystal Decorative Glass, (416) 636-7379 or classiccrystal.net; Portmanteau fabric (for roman blind), Robert Allen (to the trade), 1-800-333-3777 or robertallendesign.com; cable lighting, Eurolite, (416) 203-1501 or eurolite.com. Staircase railing: Railing design, Douglas Design Studio, (416) 538-4692 or douglasdesignstudio. com; railing fabrication, Alanjo Design, (416) 464-2769 or alanjodesign@yahoo.ca. Principal bathroom tub: Brush, soap (on tub tray), Ginger's, (416) 787-1787 or gingersbath.com; bathtub, Taps Bath Centre, 1-800-263-2976 or tapsbath.com; tub filler, Kohler, 1-800-4-KOHLER or kohler.ca. Page 81: Principal bedroom: Throw, Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com; headboard and bed frame design, Douglas Design Studio, (416) 538-4692
    or douglasdesignstudio.com; headboard and bed frame fabrication, CCI Custom Furnishings, (905) 669-3963; cabinets and panelling, Emanuele Furniture Design, (905) 669-6268; Valentin sconces, Holly Hunt, hollyhunt.com; Jim Thompson fabric (for throw pillows), Télio (to the trade), 1-800-361-0375 or telio.com; wall colour, Grant Beige (HC-83), ceiling and trim colour, Winds Breath (OC-24), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca.

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB ADMINISTRATOR
    Scott Polley

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.