Light & Airy Basement

  • Having Trouble?
    1) Try reloading the page in your browser
    2) Clear your browser cache (to see how, click here)
    3) Upgrade your browser to the latest version
    4) Ensure you have a good internet connection and that houseandhome.com is not being hindered by firewalls or ad blocking software, etc.
    5) Test using another browser. For example if you are using Internet Explorer, try Chrome or Safari

    If you are still having trouble, please contact us
Runtime: 4:43
Release Date: September 26, 2011
Featuring: Barbara Purdy

Toronto designer Barbara Purdy proves that basements can be just as warm and cheerful as upper floors. Tour through her basement reno, complete with a laundry room, cosy media room, queen Murphy bed for guests and a relocated bathroom with glass-enclosed shower. Moving the laundry room and bathroom made the 900-square-foot layout seem much more spacious. Plus, discover how she pinched pennies with Ikea butcher block countertops, a reclaimed wood fireplace mantel and a recovered hand-me-down sofa.

See more photos of their cottage in our June 2011 issue.

  • Sources

    Design, Barbara Purdy, Barbara Purdy Design, Toronto (416) 784-3400 or visit barbarapurdydesign.com; contractor, John Shouten, JCS Contracting, Toronto (647) 444-9385 or email johnshouten2 @gmail.com. Page 112: Bedspread, bedding, Lucca Fine Linens, Toronto (416) 485-4999; accent pillow, Virginia Johnson, Toronto (416) 516-3366 or visit virginiajohnson .com; baskets, West Elm, visit westelm.com; wall colour, Oxford White (CC-30) from the Designer Classics collection, niche colour, Amherst Gray (HC-167) from the Historical Colour collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800-361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca. Page 113: 1. Add Ambience: Sofa reupholstery, Cooper Bros., Toronto (416) 789-7671 or visit cooperbros.com; rug, side table, Elte, Toronto (416) 785-7885, 1-888-276- 3583 or visit elte.com; plaid chair, Silva, Toronto (416) 638-9595 or visit silva4home.com for retailers across Canada; leather chair, Absolutely Inc., Toronto (416) 324-8351 or visit absolutelyinc.com; coffee table, Boo Boo & Lefty, Toronto (416) 929-2223; floor lamp, Angus & Company, Toronto (416) 537-4104 or visit angusandcompany.com; leather folding stools, ChairTableLamp, Toronto (416) 934-1021 or visit chairtablelamp.blogspot.com; black and white pillow, Ikea, Vancouver (604) 273-2051, Coquitlam, B.C. (604) 636-1000, Calgary
    (403) 273-4338, Edmonton (780) 433-6000, Burlington, Ont. (905) 681-IKEA, Toronto (416) 222-IKEA, (416) 646-IKEA, Vaughan, Ont. (905) 695-5075, Ottawa (613) 829-4530, Montreal (514) 738-2167, Boucherville, Que. (450) 449-6755, 1-866-866-IKEA or visit ikea.ca; dotted mustard pillow, West Elm, visit westelm .com; wall colour, Oxford White (CC-30) from the Designer Classics collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800-361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca; artwork by Agnieszka Foltyn, Art Interiors, Toronto (416) 488-3157 or visit artinteriors.ca. 2. Invite Light: Stool, Elte, Toronto (416) 785-7885, 1-888-276-3583 or visit elte.com; vases, rectangular baskets, West Elm, visit westelm.com; basket (with leather handles), Angus & Company, Toronto (416) 537-4104 or visit angusandcompany.com; cabinets, countertop, Ikea, Vancouver (604) 273-2051, Coquitlam, B.C. (604) 636-1000, Calgary
    (403) 273-4338, Edmonton (780) 433-6000, Burlington, Ont. (905) 681-IKEA, Toronto (416) 222-IKEA, (416) 646-IKEA, Vaughan, Ont. (905) 695-5075, Ottawa (613) 829-4530, Montreal (514) 738-2167, Boucherville, Que. (450) 449-6755, 1-866-866-IKEA or visit ikea.ca; faucet, sink, Roman Bath Centre, Toronto
    (416) 787-1219 or visit romanbathcentre.com; blinds, W.H. Kilby & Co. Bamboo Bazaar, Toronto (416) 656-1065 or visit bamboobazaar.ca; wood- look porcelain floor tiles, Stone Tile International, Toronto (416) 515-9000, 1-866-669-1103 or visit stone-tile.com. 3. Disguise Home Tech: Millwork, John Shouten, JCS Contracting, Toronto (647) 444-9385 or email johnshouten2@gmail .com; folding stool, ChairTableLamp, Toronto (416) 934-1021 or visit chairtablelamp.blogspot.com; black vases, owl, West Elm, visit westelm.com.
    4. Plan Around Plumbing: Sink, stand, mirror, faucet, shower kit, Roman Bath Centre, Toronto (416) 787-1219 or visit romanbathcentre.com; bathmat, basket, vase, towels, West Elm, visit westelm.com; sconces, Design Within Reach, Toronto (416) 977-4003 or visit dwr.com; shower door, Imagination in Glass, Concord, Ont.
    (905) 669-1043. 

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB DEVELOPER
    Michael Kadis

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.