Modern-Yet-Warm Custom Home

  • Having Trouble?
    1) Try reloading the page in your browser
    2) Clear your browser cache (to see how, click here)
    3) Upgrade your browser to the latest version
    4) Ensure you have a good internet connection and that houseandhome.com is not being hindered by firewalls or ad blocking software, etc.
    5) Test using another browser. For example if you are using Internet Explorer, try Chrome or Safari

    If you are still having trouble, please contact us
Runtime: 5:42
Release Date: March 5, 2012
Featuring: Katherine Yaphe

Toronto textile designer Katherine Yaphe of Oliver Yaphe shows off her custom-built family house. Take in the small entryway with a wall of seamless closets, sleek white kitchen with uncluttered storage, step-down family room, soundproof library and cosy upstairs bedrooms. Patterned rugs, dark wood floors and sunshine-filled rooms keep the look cosy.

See more of this home in our April 2012 issue.

  • Sources

    Architecture, Richard Wengle Architect, Toronto (416) 787-7575; interior design, Connie Braemer, Connie Braemer Design, visit conniebdesign.com; contractor, GreenGold Construction, Toronto (416) 487-0359 or visit greengoldbuild.com. Page 106: Library: Allegra rug, Oliver Yaphe, visit oliveryaphe.com, and Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com; built-in construction, Mar- tec Woodworking, Vaughan, Ont. (905) 761-7555; wall colour, Iron Mountain (2134-30) from the Colour Preview collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800-361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca; vases, Kosoy & Bouchard, Toronto (416) 651-4480 or visit kosoyandbouchard.com. Page 107: Side chairs in living room: Formstelle Morph lounge chairs, Avenue Road, Toronto (416) 548-7788 or visit avenue-road.com; Wheels rug, Oliver Yaphe, visit oliveryaphe.com, and Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968- 7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet. com; Gallicia Rooftops photograph (on shelf, bottom right) by Jamie Kripke, Oliver Yaphe, visit oliveryaphe.com. Page 108: Dining room: Bensen Radius table, Kiosk, Toronto (416) 539-9665 or
    visit kioskdesign.ca; Plank Monza chairs, Inform Interiors, Vancouver (604) 682-3868 or visit informinteriors.com; Artek A110 pendants, Klaus, Toronto (416) 362-3434 or visit klausn.com; silver Tse Tse vase, Hollace Cluny, Toronto (416) 968- 7894, 1-888-968-7660 or visit hollacecluny.ca; Rina Menardi ceramic bowl, Design Within Reach, Toronto (416) 977-4003 or visit dwr.com; photograph by Robert Burley, Stephen Bulger Gallery, Toronto (416) 504-0575 or visit bulgergallery.com. Page 109: Kitchen: Kitchen design, Connie Braemer Design, visit conniebdesign.com; cabinets, construction, Mar-tec Woodworking, Vaughan, Ont. (905) 761-7555; cutting board, Hollace Cluny, Toronto (416) 968-7894 or visit hollacecluny.ca. Kitchen drawer: Cabinets, Mar-tec Woodworking, Vaughan, Ont. (905) 761-7555. Entryway: Mirror, Mud Australia bowl, tray, Hollace Cluny, Toronto (416) 968-7894, 1-888-968-7660 or visit hollacecluny.ca; Clare Vivier bag, Oliver Yaphe, visit oliveryaphe. com. Front hall closet: Closet design, Connie Braemer Design, visit conniebdesign.com; closet construction, Icon Kitchens, Mississauga, Ont. (905) 607-3600. Living room sectional: Chevron pillows, West Elm, Toronto (416) 537-0110 or visit westelm.com; red John Robshaw pillows, Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com; yellow and blue Fluf pillows, Hollace Cluny, Toronto (416) 968-7894 or visit hollacecluny.ca; blanket, Lucca, Toronto (416) 485- 4999; Wheels rug, Oliver Yaphe, visit oliveryaphe. com, and Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com; custom coffee table, Modern Age Plastics, Toronto (416) 675-2955 or visit modernageplastics.com. Kitchen cupboards: Yellow pot, Good Egg, Toronto (416) 593-GOOD or visit goodegg.ca; canisters, West Elm, Toronto (416) 537-0110 or visit westelm.com. Page 111: Front hall closets with striped rug: Closet design, Connie Braemer Design, visit conniebdesign.com; closet construction, Icon Kitchens, Mississauga, Ont. (905) 607-3600; striped Alice runner, photograph (right) by Jamie Kripke, Oliver Yaphe, visit oliveryaphe.com; photograph (left), Mud Flat by Ariake Sea, Kyushu, Japan by David Burdeny, Jennifer Kostuik Gallery, Vancouver (604) 737-3969 or visit kostuikgallery.com. Principal bedroom: Dune rug, Oliver Yaphe, visit oliveryaphe. com, and Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com; duvet cover, Restoration Hardware, visit restorationhardware. com; Pablo Design Tube Top lamp, Shelter, Toronto (416) 783-3333 or visit shelterfurniture.ca; Giulio bench, Design Within Reach, Toronto (416) 977- 4003 or visit dwr.com; throw, Lucca, Toronto
    (416) 485-4999; shams, Au Lit Fine Linens, call 1-800-363-6080 or visit aulitfinelinens.com. Principal bathroom: Tub, Clearwater, visit clearwatercollection.ca; towels, faucet, Ginger's, Toronto (416) 787-1787, 1-888-444-3292 or visit gingersbath.com; stool, Kiondo, Toronto (416) 533- 9959 or visit kiondo.com; vases, Kosoy & Bouchard, Toronto (416) 651-4480 or visit kosoyandbouchard. com. Sophie's bedroom: Duvet, John Robshaw, visit johnrobshaw.com; Hable Construction bird fabric (on pillow), Pinstripe rug, drape fabric, Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com; Le Klint 161 pendant, Morba, Toronto (416) 364-5144 or visit morba.myshopify. com; Auggie throw, cross-stitch pillow, cross-stitch quilt, Oliver Yaphe, visit oliveryaphe.com. Principal closet: Rug, Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com. Bathroom shelf: Accessories, Ginger's, Toronto (416) 787-1787, 1-888-444-3292 or visit gingersbath.com.

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB DEVELOPER
    Michael Kadis

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.