Tailored Precision

skip ad
  • Having Trouble?
    1) Try reloading the page in your browser
    2) Clear your browser cache (to see how, click here)
    3) Upgrade your browser to the latest version
    4) Ensure you have a good internet connection and that houseandhome.com is not being hindered by firewalls or ad blocking software, etc.
    5) Test using another browser. For example if you are using Internet Explorer, try Chrome or Safari

    If you are still having trouble, please contact us
Runtime: 5:21
Release Date: August 9, 2010
Featuring: Mazen El-Abdallah
Channel: Home Tour

Mazen El-Abdallah of Toronto’s Mazen Studio redesigned his Victorian home to feel more like an open-concept loft. He hired a contractor to help knock down walls, freshen up the drywall, paint walls a soft neutral and completely redo the kitchen and bathroom. See how floor-to-ceiling bookshelves, drapes and leggy furniture can make a room appear more spacious.

See more photos of this home in our September 2010 issue.

  • Sources
    Interior designer Mazen El-Abdallah can be reached via his website, email or (416) 676-6820. See photos of El-Abdallah’s house in the September 2010 issue of House & Home. Design by Mazen El-Abdallah, Mazen Studio, Toronto (416) 676-6820. Living room: Linley fabric drapes, Joanne Fabrics (to the trade), visit joannefabrics.com for locations; rug, Y&Co, Toronto (416) 968-7700, Montreal (514) 287-8998 or visit ycocarpet.com; DwellStudio cushions, lamp (beside window), Hollace Cluny, Toronto (416) 968-7894 or visit hollacecluny.ca; Barcelona coffee table, Jens Risom chairs, Proenza Schouler Luxe Walker fabric (on chairs), Knoll, visit knoll.com; vintage reading lamp (beside sofa), Cedric Hartman, visit cedrichartman.com; drape sewing, Lydia David, Toronto (416) 824-5893; wall colour, Cloud White (CC-40) from the Designer Classics collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800-361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca for retailers across Canada; Jens Risom stool, Revival, Chicago (733) 248-1211 or visit rerevival.com. Dining room: Light, Hollace Cluny, as above; table top, Parallel General, Woodbridge, Ont. (905) 851-6569 or visit parallelgeneral.com; Bentwood chairs, Commute Home, Toronto (416) 861-0521 or visit commutehome.com; Eames Time Life stool, Design Within Reach, Toronto (416) 977-4003 or visit dwr.com. Entryway: Edge tile, Stone Tile International, call 1-866-669-1103 or visit stone-tile.com for showrooms across Canada; flooring, Moncer Specialty Flooring, Toronto (905) 938-5578 or visit moncer.com. Kitchen: Wine rack, David MacHenry Design, Toronto (647) 219-4502; cooktop, Gaggenau, visit gaggenau.com; Mekal sink, Ginger’s, Toronto (416) 787-1787 or 1-888-444-3292; cabinet colour, Off Black (57), Farrow & Ball, Toronto (416) 920-0200, 1-877-363-1040 or visit farrow-ball.com for retailers across Canada. Cabinet: Cabinet, The Rogue Gallery, Toronto (416) 462-1800. Landing: Sisal carpet, Elte, Toronto (416) 785-7885, 1-888-276-3583 or visit elte.com; B&B Italia Pyllon stool, Kiosk, Toronto (416) 539-9665, (416) 601-1661 or visit kioskdesign.ca; artwork by Gert Naude, Snob, Toronto (416) 778-8778 or visit snobstuff.com. Upstairs sitting area: Carpet, Elte, as above; credenza, Zig Zag, Toronto (416) 778-6495 or visit modfurnishings.com; art by Tek Yang, Bertoia chair, Studio Pazo, Toronto (416) 916-6302 or visit studiopazo.com.
  • Credits

    Lynda Reeves

    Sheri Graham Delagran

    Jason Stickley

    Ryan Louis

    Reiko Caron

    Andrew Noddin

    Scott Polley

    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.