Vibrant West Vancouver Family Home

skip ad
Loading...
Runtime: 6:10
Release Date: April 30, 2012
Featuring: Lael O'Brien
Channel: Home Tour

Large, ocean-view windows and hits of bold colour and pattern combine in this suburban gem. Interior designer Lael O’Brien leads us through her West Vancouver home perched atop an old cottage lot with lush gardens. Tour the art gallery-like entryway, open-concept dining/living room, kitchen with bright turquoise tiles, dark and dramatic den and fun kids’ bedrooms upstairs.

See more of this home in our June 2012 issue.

  • Sources

    Design, Lael O'Brien Design, Vancouver (604) 317-7319 or visit Laelobriendesign.com; architecture,
    Ekistics Architecture, Vancouver (604) 876-5050 or visit Ekistics.com.

    Kitchen: Wallpaper, Orla Kiely, visit Orlakiely.com; Saarinen table, Inform Interiors, Vancouver (604) 682-3868 or visit Informinteriors.com; tulip chairs, Gabriel Ross, call 1-866-207-1111 or visit gabrielross.com; cabinets, Oscar Grann's, Vancouver (604) 987-9833 or visit oscargranns. com; tile, Ames Tile & Stone, visit amestile.com for retailers across Canada; backsplash tiles, World Mosaic Stone & Tiles, call 1-877-768-1555 or visit worldmosaic.ca; bowl, Marimekko Vancouver, call (604) 609-2881 or visit marimekkovancouver.com; Sophie Conran white dishes, Portmeirion Canada, call 1-800-387-3864; upper cabinets, island, Sage Cabinetry, Vancouver (604) 988-3504 or visit sagecabinetry.com; green bowl, Martha Sturdy, Vancouver (604) 872-5205 or visit marthasturdy.com.

    Living room: Sofa, coffee table, Bombast Interiors, Vancouver (604) 678-9123 or visit bombastfurniture.com; pendant, Martha Sturdy, Vancouver (604) 872-5205 or visit marthasturdy. com; rug, East India Carpets, Vancouver (604) 736-5681 or visit eastindiacarpets.com; pillows, Örling & Wu, Vancouver (604) 568-6718, 1-877- 398-2718 or visit orlingandwu.com for ordering information; wall colour, Shaded White (201), Farrow & Ball, call 1-877-363-1040 or visit farrow-ball.com.

    Dining room: Table, chairs, Livingspace, Vancouver (604) 683-1116 or visit livingspace.com; buffet, Peking Lounge, Vancouver (604) 844-1559 or visit pekinglounge.com; artwork by Judith Foosaner, Becker Galleries, visit beckergalleries.com; bowl, vases, Martha Sturdy, Vancouver (604) 872-5205 or visit marthasturdy.com; wall colour, Shaded White (201), Farrow & Ball, call 1-877-363-1040 or visit farrow-ball.com.

    Powder room: Duravit sink, Kitchen & Bath Classics, visit wolseleyinc.ca for retailers across Canada; wallpaper, Orla Kiely, visit orlakiely.com. Living room chair: Lamp, chest, Da Vinci's Home, Vancouver (604) 921-3344 or visit davincishome.ca; flooring, Chilewich, visit chilewich.com for retailers across Canada.

    Entryway: Sheep, Da Vinci's Home, Vancouver (604) 921-3344 or visit davincishome.ca; wallpaper, Farrow & Ball, call 1-877-363-1040 or visit farrow-ball.com.

    Kids' bathroom: Wallpaper, Graham & Brown, visit grahambrown.ca for showrooms across Canada; counters, North Shore Stone Works, Vancouver (604) 985-0213.

    Red bedroom: Wall colour, Calamine (230), Farrow & Ball, call 1-877-363-1040 or visit farrow-ball.com; beds, Country Furniture, Vancouver (604) 738-6411, (604) 985-3359 or visit countryfurniture.net; Kartell light, Gabriel Ross, call 1-866-207-1111 or visit gabrielross.com; bedding, Marimekko Vancouver, call (604) 609-2881 or visit marimekkovancouver.com.

    Blue bedroom: Wall colour, Pale Powder (204), Farrow & Ball, call 1-877-363-1040 or visit farrow-ball.com; daybed, Ikea, call 1-866- 866-IKEA or visit ikea.ca for locations across Canada; bedding, Marimekko Vancouver, call (604) 609-2881 or visit marimekkovancouver. com.

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB ADMINISTRATOR
    Scott Polley

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.