Empty Nester Reno

skip ad
Loading...
Runtime: 4:04
Release Date: August 19, 2013
Featuring: Olivia Botrie
Channel: Home Tour

Designer Olivia Botrie of Barbara Purdy Design walks us through the renovation of her parents’ home after they downsized. See how her design blends rustic warmth and a clean, contemporary feel. Modern fireplaces add cosiness, while a herringbone floor and stone wall in the mudroom is contrasted by a sleek white kitchen with concealed appliances.

See more of this home in our September 2013 issue.

  • Sources

    Design, Olivia Botrie, Barbara Purdy Design, (416) 784-3400 or barbarapurdydesign.com.
    Living room: Fireplace, Marsh’s Stoves & Fireplaces, (416) 762-4582 or marshsfireplaces.com; rug, Weavers Art, (416) 929-7929 or weaversart.com. Page 99: Living room: Windows, Ridley Windows & Doors, 1-800-538-4370 or ridley-windows.com; drape fabric, Lee Jofa, 1-800-535-3258 or leejofa.com;drape sewing, Your Sweet Home, (416) 489-2301 or yoursweethometoronto.com; pink pillow, candelabra (on windowsill), Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com; bird-patterned pillow fabric by DwellStudio, white pillow fabric, Robert Allen (to the trade), 1-800-363-3020 or robertallendesign.com; flooring (throughout), Trends & Trades, (647) 881-0311 or trendandtrades.ca.

    Dining room: Chandelier, Patina Antiques, (416) 862-8880; salvaged metal gate piece, The Door Store, (416) 863-1590 or thedoorstore.ca; chairs, Palette Furniture, (905) 856-0610 or palettefurniture.com; rug, Weavers Art, (416) 929-7929 or weaversart.com; architectural prints, D&E Lake, delake.com. Shelves above kitchen sink: Backsplash tile, Stone Tile International, 1-866-669-1103 or stone-tile.com; Viatera quartz by LG countertop, York Fabrica, (416) 235-0161 or yorkmarble.com; sink, faucet, Roman Bath Centre, (416) 787-1219 or romanbathcentre.com.

    Kitchen: Rug, West Elm, westelm.com; desk chair, Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com; range, Bertazzoni, bertazzoni.com. Page 102: Principal bedroom bed: Bed, Crate & Barrel, 1-888-657-4108 or crateandbarrel.ca; bedding, West Elm, westelm.com, and Lucca, (416) 485-4999; chandelier, Circa Lighting, 1-877-762-2323 or circalighting.com; drape fabric, Threadcount, (416) 916-9012 or threadcountinc.com; drape sewing, Your Sweet Home, (416) 489-2301 or yoursweethometoronto.com; nightstand, lamp, RH Restoration Hardware, 1-800-910-9836 or rh.com; bench, throw pillows (on bed), Burnett, (647) 347-9344 or burnettstyle.com; wall colour, Templeton Gray (HC-161), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca. Page 103: Principal bedroom fireplace: Fireplace, Marsh’s Stoves & Fireplaces, (416) 762-4582 or marshfireplaces.com; cabinet colour, Templeton Gray (HC-161), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca; chaise, Elte, (416) 785- 7885 or elte.com. Principal bathroom: Wall tile, Stone Tile International, 1-866-669-1103 or stone-tile.com; Viatera quartz by LG countertop, York Fabrica, (416) 235-0161 or yorkmarble.com; fixtures, faucets, Roman Bath Centre, (416) 787-1219 or romanbathcentre.com; shower curtain fabric, Robert Allen (to the trade), 1-800-363-3020 or robertallendesign.com; shower curtain sewing, Your Sweet Home, (416) 489-2301or yoursweethometoronto.com. Mudroom floor: Floor tile, Saltillo Imports, (416) 441-2224 or saltillo-tiles.com. Get the Look: Ice facetted ceiling light, Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte. com; Oviedo chaise, UpCountry, (416) 366-7477 or upcountry.com; Vintage Blossom fabric in Dove by DwellStudio, Luxury velvet in Tuscany Rose, Robert Allen (to the trade), 1-800-363-3020 or robertallendesign.com; Driftwood candelabra, VivaTerra, vivaterra.com; Ermitage wardrobe in Bleu Lavande, Grange, (416) 943-4726 or grangeny.com.

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB ADMINISTRATOR
    Scott Polley

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.