Michael Penney’s Kitchen

skip ad
Loading...
Runtime: 4:06
Release Date: May 2, 2011
Featuring: Michael Penney
Channel: Home Tour

Learn how to refresh a small-space kitchen without a big-reno price tag. H&H style editor Michael Penney and his wife, Sara, gave up their downtown Toronto apartment for a house of their own in Oshawa, Ont. They wanted to transform the 90-year-old kitchen, complete with dated appliances and plastic tiles, into a fresh and functional space with French country charm. Instead of ripping out the entire kitchen at great cost, however, they only invested in Carrara marble counters, a white subway tile backsplash, a farmhouse faucet and new stainless steel appliances. Be inspired by the results!

See more photos of this home in our June 2011 issue.

  • Sources

    Stove, fridge, dishwasher, Frigidaire, call 1-800-668-4606 or visit frigidairecanada.ca; marble countertop,
    York Marble, Toronto (416) 235-0161 or visit yorkmarble.com; floor and wall tiles, Olympia Tile & Stone, call 1-800-268-1613 or visit olympiatile
    .com; faucet, American Standard, call 1-800-387-0369 or visit americanstandard.ca for retailers across Canada; cabinet hardware, Lee Valley Tools, call 1-800-267-8767 or visit leevalley.com; cabinet colour, Martha Stewart Living Salt Glaze (MSL141), The Home Depot, call 1-800-628-0525 or visit homedepot.ca for locations across Canada; tile installation, Elvin Luga, CL Ceramic Tile, Toronto (647) 280-5254. Stove, Frigidaire, call 1-800-668- 4606 or visit frigidairecanada.ca; wall and floor Tile, Olympia Tile & Stone, call 1-800-268-1613 or visit olympiatile.com; wall colour, Martha Stewart Living Whetstone Gray (MSL258), The Home Depot, call 1-800-628-0525 or visit homedepot.ca for locations across Canada; tile installation, Elvin Luga, CL Ceramic Tile, Toronto (647) 280-5254; pot rack, step stool, Ikea, Vancouver (604) 273- 2051, Coquitlam, B.C. (604) 636-1000, Calgary (403) 273-4338, Edmonton (780) 433-6000, Burlington, Ont. (905) 681-IKEA, Toronto (416) 222-IKEA, (416) 646-IKEA, Vaughan, Ont. (905) 695-5075, Ottawa (613) 829-4530, Montreal (514) 738-2167, Boucherville, Que. (450) 449-6755, 1-866-866-IKEA or visit ikea.ca; copper pots, HomeSense, visit homesense.ca for locations across Canada, and Value Village, visit valuevillage .com. 

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB ADMINISTRATOR
    Scott Polley

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.