New York-Style Apartment

  • Having Trouble?
    1) Try reloading the page in your browser
    2) Clear your browser cache (to see how, click here)
    3) Upgrade your browser to the latest version
    4) Ensure you have a good internet connection and that houseandhome.com is not being hindered by firewalls or ad blocking software, etc.
    5) Test using another browser. For example if you are using Internet Explorer, try Chrome or Safari

    If you are still having trouble, please contact us
Runtime: 4:55
Release Date: January 2, 2012
Featuring: Joel Bray

A dramatic dark entryway + bright kitchen = a youthful-yet-classic space. Designer Joel Bray outlines how he transformed an outdated 690-square-foot, builder-basic condo by adding custom crown moulding, dark floors and nostalgic vignettes — all inspired by small New York rentals that maximize space and style.

See more photos of this condo in our February 2012 issue.

  • Sources

    Design, Joel Bray, Toronto (416) 669-9380 or visit joelbray.com. Page 72: Living room sofa: Sofa, Barrymore Furniture, Toronto (416) 532-2891 or visit barrymorefurniture.com; rug, coffee table, Elte, Toronto (416) 785-7885, 1-888-276-3583 or visit elte.com; vintage suitcases, Angus & Company, Toronto (416) 537-4104 or visit angusandcompany.com; Eames stool, Design Within Reach, Toronto (416) 977-4003 or visit dwr.com; patterned pillow, DwellStudio, visit dwellstudio.com; velvet pillow, Crate & Barrel, call 1-888-657-4108 or visit crateandbarrel.ca. Page 73: Living room and dining area: Eames chairs, Herman Miller, visit hermanmiller.com for retailers across Canada; flooring, millwork, Lowe's, call 1-800-445-6937 or visit lowes.ca; drape sewing, National Drapery, Toronto (416) 787-0813 or visit nationaldrapery.com; wall colour, Oxford White (CC-30) from the Designer Classics collection, Benjamin Moore, call 1-800- 361-5898 or visit benjaminmoore.ca; DwellStudio drape fabric, Robert Allen (to the trade), call 1-800-333-3777 or visit robertallendesign.com. Page 75: Dining area: Dining table, Elte, as above; Eames chairs, Herman Miller, as above; bowl, Hollace Cluny, Toronto (416) 968-7894, 1-888- 968-7660 or visit hollacecluny.ca; chandelier, Prima Lighting, Vaughn, Ont. (905) 851-1188 or visit primalighting.ca; artwork, Ryan Louis, visit ryan-louis.com. Foyer: Wall colour, Railings (31), Farrow & Ball, Toronto (416) 920-0200, 1-877- 363-1040 or visit farrow-ball.com; flooring, millwork, Lowe's, as above; stool, Design Within Reach, as above; Jielde table lamp, Hollace Cluny, as above; small pottery dish, Cynthia Findlay Antiques, Toronto (416) 260-9057 or visit cynthiafindlay.com. Kitchen: Cabinet and wall colour, Oxford White (CC-30) from the Designer Classics collection, Benjamin Moore, as above; cabinet painting, Benjamen Furniture Refinishing, Toronto (416) 745-2559; backsplash tile, Olympia Tile & Stone, call 1-800-268-1613 or visit olympiatile.com; faucet, KitchenAid appliances, Lowe's, as above; door hardware, Lee Valley Tools, call 1-800-267-8767 or visit leevalley.com; countertop, sink, York Fabrica, Toronto (416) 235-0161 or visit yorkmarble.com. Page 76: Dresser: Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams dresser, Elte, as above; large artwork, 195-025 Titanium White by Michael Brown, Canvas Gallery, Toronto (416) 532-5275 or visit canvasgallery.ca; door, Lowe's, as above; vases, Hollace Cluny, as above. Page 77: Walk-in closet: DwellStudio drape fabric, Robert Allen (to the trade), as above; wardrobes, Ikea, call 1-866-866-IKEA or visit ikea.ca for locations across Canada; drape sewing, National Drapery, as above; folding stool, ChairTableLamp, Toronto (416) 934-1021. Principal bedroom: Wall colour, Lamp Room Gray (88), Farrow & Ball, as above; millwork, Lowe's, as above; DwellStudio drape fabric and accent pillow fabric, Robert Allen (to the trade), as above; drape sewing, National Drapery, as above; table lamp, Crate & Barrel, as above; artwork, Elte, as above; headboard fabric, Designer Fabrics, Toronto (416) 531-2810 or visit designerfabrics.ca. Bathroom: Kohler vanity, faucet, toilet, Lowe's, as above; shower tile, floor tile, Olympia Tile, as above; medicine cabinet, Ikea, as above.

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB DEVELOPER
    Michael Kadis

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.