The New Look Of Casual

  • Having Trouble?
    1) Try reloading the page in your browser
    2) Clear your browser cache (to see how, click here)
    3) Upgrade your browser to the latest version
    4) Ensure you have a good internet connection and that houseandhome.com is not being hindered by firewalls or ad blocking software, etc.
    5) Test using another browser. For example if you are using Internet Explorer, try Chrome or Safari

    If you are still having trouble, please contact us
Runtime: 6:40
Release Date: October 25, 2013
Featuring: Grace Castaneda

An H&H TV classic designed by Grace Castaneda! See what makes this casual country home so livable — and so now.

  • Sources

    Design, Grace Castaneda, Grace Castaneda Interiors, (416) 573-2490 or gracecastaneda.com; contractor, Kevin Kresan Quality Construction, (519) 365-2609; exterior architectural design, Jim Campbell, Rockside Campbell Design, (705) 446-2506 or rockside.ca; wood floor by Admonter (throughout), Moncer Specialty Flooring, (905) 562-0100 or moncer.com; custom drapes and sewing (throughout), Kayli Rodgers, The Sewing Shop, (416) 907-6622 or thesewingshop.ca; fabrics (throughout), Designer Fabrics, (416) 531-2810 or designerfabrics.ca. Page 106: Living room: Sofa, Stylegarage, (604) 558-4343, (416) 534-4343 or stylegarage.com; rug, throw, West Elm, westelm. com; black urn, basket, stools, wooden box, Vintage Fine Objects, (416) 686-5614 or vintagefineobjects.com; task lamp, RH Restoration Hardware, 1-800-910-9836 or rh.com; coffee table and console construction, HD Threshing, table.ca; garland, Sheridan Nurseries, sheridannurseries. com. Page 107: Exterior door: Wreath, Penney & Company, (905) 493-7300 or michaelpenney (416) 504-5358; mat, Ikea, 1-866-866-IKEA or ikea.ca; sleigh bells, Pimlico Design Gallery, (416) 538-0909 or pimlicogallery.com; greenery, Sheridan Nurseries, sheridannurseries.com; sled, Canadian Tire, 1-866-746-7287 or canadiantire.ca. Page 108: Presents: Stool, Vintage Fine Objects, (416) 686-5614 or vintagefineobjects.com; ribbon, Mokuba, (416) 504-5358. Portrait: Garland (on stair rail), HomArt, homart.com; ribbon, Mokuba, (416) 504-5358; ottoman, Boo Boo & Lefty, (416) 929-2223 or boobooandlefty.com; sofa and throw pillow fabrication, Silva, (416) 638-9595 or silva4home.com; tray, Vintage Fine Objects, (416) 686-5614 or vintagefineobjects.com. Page 109: Dining room: Table, Crate & Barrel, 1-888- 657-4108 or crateandbarrel.ca; dining chair, RH Restoration Hardware, 1-800-910-9836 or rh.com; chandelier, Absolutely Inc., (416) 324-8351 or absolutelyinc.com; horse prints, Vintage Fine Objects, (416) 686-5614 or vintagefineobjects. com; wreath, Sheridan Nurseries, sheridannurseries.com; burlap ribbon, Angus & Company, (416) 537-4104 or angusandcompany. com; wall and ceiling colour (throughout), All White (2005), Farrow & Ball, 1-877-363-1040 or farrow-ball.com; blackboard, Design Within Reach, (416) 977-4003 or dwr.com. Page 110: Mudroom: Wreath, West Elm, westelm.com; ribbon, Mokuba, (416) 504-5358; mirror, Dedora, (416) 532-3196 or dedora.ca; photography by Charlene Serdan, Canvas Gallery, (416) 532-5275 or canvasgallery. ca; console, bread bowl, bench, baskets, ceramic pine cone, Vintage Fine Objects, (416) 686-5614 or vintagefineobjects.com; topiary ball, clay pot, Angus & Company, (416) 537-4104 or angusandcompany.com; leather bag, Brunswick + Co., brunswickandco.com. Page 111: Kitchen: Cabinet construction, John Poole Cabinetry, (705) 726-2525 or mr.johnpoole@gmail.com; marble compote, Crate & Barrel, 1-888-657-4108 or crateandbarrel.ca; cheese board, Urban Tree Salvage, (647) 438-7516 or urbantreesalvage.com; table lamp, Residential Lighting Studio, (416) 537-3138. Living room railing: Sofa, Stylegarage, (604) 558-4343, (416) 534-4343 or stylegarage. com; white vase, black iron compote, Vintage Fine Objects, (416) 686-5614 or vintagefineobjects. com; stockings, My Adobe Cottage, myadobecottage.etsy.com. Holiday table: Glasses by Lauren Home, Hudson's Bay, hbc.com; brass bowl, candlesticks, Found, foundstyle.net; napkins, West Elm, westelm.com; dishware by Vera Wang, William Ashley China, (905) 566-8500, (416) 964-2900 or williamashley.com. Page 112: Exterior: Exterior stain colour, Ebony, Olympic Paints & Stains, olympic.com. Antlers: Console construction, HD Threshing, table.ca; ornaments, Absolutely Inc., (416) 324-8351 or absolutelyinc.com. Hallway: Cloche, brass vase, mirror, Vintage Fine Objects, (416) 686-5614 or vintagefineobjects.com; lamp, Union Lighting & Furnishings, (416) 652-2200 or unionlf.com; basket, Hardware Interiors, (416) 462-3099 or hardwareinteriors.com; manzanita branch, AT Design Group, (416) 323-0323 or atdesignhome.com; wreath, Sheridan Nurseries, sheridannurseries.com; ornaments, West Elm, westelm.com. Page 113: Sabrina's room: Tepee, Advice from a Caterpillar, (416) 960-2223 or advicefromacaterpillar.com; trees, RH Restoration Hardware, 1-800-910-9836 or rh.com; mirror, Châtelet, (416) 603-2278 or chatelethome.com. Page 114: Bathroom: Mirror, Angus & Company, (416) 537-4104 or angusandcompany.com; wall-hung shelf, Pottery Barn, 1-855-860-1079

    or potterybarn.ca; vanity construction, HD Threshing, table.ca; sink, fixtures, Taps Bath Centre, 1-800-263-2976 or tapsbath.com; tray, glass jars, West Elm, westelm.com; wicker storage box, Ginger's, (416) 787-1787 or gingersbath.com. Page 115: Principal bedroom: Bed, Ethan Allen, ethanallen.com; lamp, RH Restoration Hardware, 1-800-910-9836 or rh.com; drapes, The Sewing Shop, (416) 907-6622 or thesewingshop.ca; throw, West Elm, westelm.com; bombe chest, Pier 1 Imports, 1-800-245-4595 or pier1.ca; clock, Found, foundstyle.net.

  • Credits

    EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
    Lynda Reeves

    DIRECTOR TV PRODUCTION & ONLINE VIDEO
    Sheri Graham Delagran

    DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
    Jason Stickley

    SENIOR PRODUCER
    Ryan Louis

    STYLIST
    Reiko Caron

    EDITOR
    Andrew Noddin

    WEB DEVELOPER
    Michael Kadis

    ONLINE DESIGNER
    Jessica Piekarski

  • Comments (0)

    We welcome comments that are constructive and not of a personal nature.

    Please be respectful of the people who have kindly allowed us into their homes for the benefit of us all.